Bozeman Daily Chronicle selected as the state’s best daily newspaper

For the second year in a row, the Montana Newspaper Association has selected the Bozeman Daily Chronicle as the state’s best daily newspaper.

At the association’s Better Newspaper Contest last weekend in Big Sky, the Chronicle won the Sam Gilluly Award as Montana’s best daily newspaper. The Chronicle also won first place in general excellence and first place for best website among the state’s daily newspapers.

Stephanie Pressly, the Chronicle’s publisher, was also honored with the Master Editor-Publisher Award for her contributions to the Montana newspaper industry and the Montana Newspaper Association.

In a separate, regional contest sponsored by the Society of Professional Journalists last weekend in Seattle, the Chronicle took second place in the general excellence print category among medium-sized daily newspapers in the Pacific Northwest. It’s the sixth time in the last seven years that the Chronicle has been recognized in the general excellence category that honors the region’s best newspaper. The paper’s website – led by city editor Michael Becker – also took second place in the general excellence online category.

In the statewide contest, Chronicle photographer Adrian Sanchez-Gonzalez won first place for both best feature photograph and best sports photograph. Sports editor Jon Maletz won first place for column writing, and former Chronicle reporter Laura Lundquist won first place for environmental reporting. Current Chronicle reporter Eric Dietrich also won first place for a news story he wrote while with the Great Falls Tribune.

Gonzalez took second place for lifestyle photography, and Maletz took third in the best sports story category.

In the SPJ contest, the Chronicle won first place for page design, Maletz took first for sports reporting and Rachel Hergett took second for arts and lifestyle reporting.

The Chronicle’s advertising department also won numerous awards at the state competition, including a first place for Christine Dubbs for best newspaper promotional ad.

Second-place winners were Matt Green for best ad to sell or promote merchandise; Brooke Benson for best image building ad; Tyrel Thornton for best promotional ad; and the Southwest Montana Snapshot for best niche publication. Third-place winners were Duncan Bullock for best ad to sell or promote merchandise; Dubbs for best newspaper promotional ad; and Dining Under the Big Sky for best niche publication.

Comments are closed.